Illinois Self-Exclusion Doesn’t Cover Every Form of Gambling

Illinois Gambling Protection Gap Index — 2026

Illinois residents trying to stop gambling can enroll in self-exclusion programs that block access to some regulated gambling products. But gambling no longer sits inside a single regulatory system. Sportsbooks, casinos, video gaming terminals, prediction markets, daily fantasy sports, sweepstakes casinos and other products operate under different rules. Chicago Addiction Therapy reviewed those systems to answer one question: when someone in Illinois decides they no longer want access to gambling, how far does self-exclusion actually reach?

By Chris Beerman, MSW, LCSW, CADC · Published October 2026 · Policies last verified October 7, 2026 · Download the data (CSV) · Methodology

Cite this researchBeerman, C. (2026). Illinois Gambling Protection Gap Index: Self-exclusion and consumer protections across gambling products. Chicago Addiction Therapy. https://www.chicagoaddictiontherapy.com/illinois-gambling-protection-gap. Published October 2026; last verified October 7, 2026.

The short answer

Of the 8 kinds of gambling that operate openly in Illinois, 2 are covered by the state’s self-exclusion program today: casinos and Illinois-licensed sportsbooks. Daily fantasy and pick’em is required by law to join the program but is not covered yet, and the Illinois Lottery runs its own separate program. Video gaming terminals, prediction markets, brokerage event contracts and sweepstakes casinos have no statewide exclusion at all. Offshore and crypto gambling sites are also beyond the program’s reach; because they are illegal in Illinois, they are scored in the audit below but left out of this count.

2 of 8
kinds of gambling operating openly in Illinois that the state’s self-exclusion program covers
58 / 100
Protection Gap Index. Higher means larger gaps; scored against a published rubric
~49,000
video gaming terminals with no binding self-exclusion
18
minimum age for prediction markets and brokerage event contracts, against 21 for licensed sportsbooks

What does Illinois self-exclusion actually block?

Coverage by the Illinois Gaming Board Self-Exclusion ProgramAs of October 7, 2026. “Own state program” means the Illinois Lottery’s separate Voluntary Self-Exclusion Program.
Gambling productIllinois Gaming Board self-exclusion
CasinosCovered
SportsbooksCovered
Video gaming terminalsNot covered
Prediction marketsNot covered
Brokerage event contractsNot covered
Daily fantasy and pick'emRequired by law, not yet in effect
Illinois LotteryOwn state program
Sweepstakes casinosNot covered
Offshore sportsbooks and casinosNot covered
Crypto casinosNot covered

Free to reuse with credit: download this chart as an image (PNG).

One person, many doors

Follow one hypothetical Illinois resident who decides to stop and enrolls in the state program. The exclusion follows them to some doors and stops at others.

Where a state self-exclusion follows the person, and where it stops
  1. 1
    Enrolls in the Illinois Gaming Board's Self-Exclusion ProgramIn person, at one of about 41 sites.
  2. 2
    Sportsbook appsAccounts at every Illinois-licensed sportsbook are suspended.
    Blocked
  3. 3
    Illinois casinosBarred from all 17, and from casinos owned by four major chains elsewhere.
    Blocked
  4. 4
    Video gaming terminal at the corner barNo binding exclusion. About 49,000 machines.
    Still open
  5. 5
    Prediction market appNot covered. A separate exclusion is needed on each platform.
    Still open
  6. 6
    Brokerage app with event contractsNot covered. Exclusion is by request to the broker, where offered.
    Still open
  7. 7
    Sweepstakes casinoNot licensed in Illinois. Exclusion depends on the operator.
    Still open
  8. 8
    Daily fantasy or pick'emRequired by law to join the program; not yet in effect.
    Not yet
  9. 9
    Illinois LotteryNot covered by this enrollment. The Lottery runs its own program.
    Separate program

How old do you have to be?

Every gambling product the Illinois Gaming Board licenses requires players to be 21. The state Lottery and the federally regulated prediction-market and brokerage products are open at 18.

Minimum age to gamble, by productStatutes for Illinois-licensed products; operator terms for the rest. Offshore and crypto sites are not legal in Illinois and are left out.
Casinos21Sportsbooks21Video gaming terminals21Daily fantasy and pick'em21Illinois Lottery18Prediction markets18Brokerage event contracts18Sweepstakes casinos18–21age 18age 21

The full audit

Each row reflects the published rules of the state program or, where none applies, the major operators reviewed. Scroll sideways on a phone. The same data is in the CSV download.

ProductExamplesMinimum ageRegulatorIllinois self-exclusion applies?Separate exclusion available?Follows the person across operators?LengthCan it be reversed?Marketing stops?Key gapGap score
CasinosThe 17 Illinois casinos21Illinois Gaming BoardYesNot needed; the statewide program appliesYes: all Illinois casinos and licensed sportsbooks, plus casinos owned by Caesars, Boyd, Penn and MGM elsewhereFive-year minimum; continues until removal is grantedOnly after five years, with a letter from a licensed mental-health professional who is a certified gambling counselor (or a psychiatrist), treatment records, a records release and a liability waiver; the Gaming Board decidesYes: targeted marketing to enrollees is prohibitedEnrollment is in person only, at about 41 sanctioned sites0 / 5
SportsbooksDraftKings, FanDuel, BetMGM, Caesars and other Illinois-licensed books21Illinois Gaming BoardYesYes, in-app limits and closures for one operatorYes: every Illinois-licensed sportsbook. Out-of-state accounts only at the operator's discretionFive-year minimum; continues until removal is grantedSame as casinosYes: targeted marketing to enrollees is prohibitedThe program covers Illinois-licensed sportsbooks only; the same brands' separate prediction-market apps need their own exclusions0 / 5
Video gaming terminalsSlot-style machines in bars, restaurants, gas stations and truck stops21Illinois Gaming BoardNoNo. The Video Gaming Problem Gambling Registry sends resources but blocks nothingNoNot applicable; the registry can be cancelled at any timeNot applicableNo rule identifiedAbout 49,000 machines at about 9,000 locations with no binding exclusion. The Gaming Board adopted a resolution in September 2026 to add them, with no date set5 / 5
Prediction marketsKalshi, Polymarket US18CFTC (federal); Illinois' authority contested in federal courtNoYes, on each platformPartly: SelfExclude.io covers Kalshi and Novig only; a Kalshi exclusion does not block access through brokersKalshi: not published. Polymarket US: 30 days, 1 year or permanent (announced October 2026). SelfExclude.io: 1 to 12 months, then ends automaticallyKalshi: cannot be lifted early, but ends automatically. Polymarket US: not statedNot documentedOpen at 18. The state list does not reach these platforms, and each must be excluded separately4 / 5
Brokerage event contractsRobinhood, Webull, Interactive Brokers, Coinbase18CFTC (federal), offered through brokeragesNoRobinhood: by request to support. Others: no documented toolNoRobinhood calls it a more permanent restriction; no term publishedRobinhood: can be re-enabled after a support reviewNot documentedSits inside an ordinary investing app; hiding sports content is not a block4.5 / 5
Daily fantasy and pick'emPrizePicks, Underdog, DraftKings, FanDuel21 by statute; operator terms not yet consistentIllinois Gaming Board (P.A. 104-0468, in force June 16, 2026)Required by law, not yet implementedYes, on each platformPartly: PrizePicks, Underdog, Dabble and Splash share an exclusion through idPair; FanDuel's state-wide option depends on a state program that does not yet cover Illinois fantasyPrizePicks: 30 days or more, or lifetime. Underdog: 1, 3, 5 or 10 years, or lifetime. FanDuel: from 1 yearPrizePicks and Underdog: cannot be undone. DraftKings and FanDuel: not publishedPrizePicks: marketing notifications stop. Others: not documentedThe law is in force but the Gaming Board's implementing rules are not; existing operators may continue until 90 days after rules take effect3 / 5
Illinois LotteryDraw games, instant tickets, iLottery18Illinois Department of the LotteryNo (separate Lottery program)Yes: Voluntary Self-Exclusion (online and retail prize claims) and online-only exclusionYes, across all Lottery channels; nothing outside the LotteryVoluntary Self-Exclusion: 1 year, 5 years or lifetime. Online-only: at least 5 yearsEnrollees stay listed until a removal request is approved; early requests are denied; removal requires treatment documentationYes: the Lottery removes enrollees from promotional lists and retailers must not market to themRetailers must refuse sales, but cash purchases cannot practically be checked; enforcement works mainly by withholding prizes0 / 5
Sweepstakes casinosChumba, LuckyLand, Pulsz, McLuckVaries, 18 or 21 by operatorNone; not licensed in Illinois. The Gaming Board, with the Attorney General, sent more than 60 cease-and-desist letters in February 2026NoYes, on some platformsPartly: Chumba's exclusion covers one site; exclusion across its sister sites requires contacting supportChumba: 6 months to 5 years, or indefiniteChumba: timed exclusions reactivate automatically; indefinite can be lifted after 6 monthsChumba: excluded players are unsubscribed from all marketing. Others: not documentedOperating without an Illinois license; exclusion depends entirely on each operator3.5 / 5
Offshore sportsbooks and casinosMajor offshore sitesUncertainNone; not legal in Illinois. The Gaming Board has sent cease-and-desist letters to offshore sportsbooksNoUncertainNoUncertainUncertainUncertainNo Illinois or U.S. regulator oversees them; any exclusion depends on the operator5 / 5
Crypto casinosMajor crypto casino sites18 or local age of majority (stated where retrievable)None; not legal in Illinois, and the largest sites bar U.S. players in their termsNoYes, on some platformsNoStake: indefinite exclusion lasts at least 6 monthsStake: does not reactivate automatically; reopening is subject to internal reviewNot documentedTerms bar U.S. players but can be reached with a VPN; no regulator can enforce an exclusion4 / 5

Protection Gap Score

Each category is scored on five criteria. A criterion scores 0 when it is met program-wide or by every major operator reviewed, 0.5 when only some operators meet it or it is met with a documented limitation, and 1 when it is not met. A protection we could not document scores 1 and is marked (u) for uncertain; we did not infer coverage. A category’s gap score is the sum, from 0 (strong protection) to 5 (no meaningful mechanism identified). The index is the total across all ten categories, doubled to give a score out of 100.

CriterionMet when
A · Statewide coverageCovered today by a binding Illinois state exclusion program (IGB Self-Exclusion Program or Illinois Lottery Voluntary Self-Exclusion).
B · Binding exclusion with published termsA binding exclusion (not just account closure) is available, with its length published.
C · Follows the personThe exclusion follows the individual across operators or brands in the category, not only the one account closed.
D · Hard to reverseCannot be lifted early, and getting back in requires a review step rather than automatic reinstatement or a support request.
E · Marketing stopsA rule or published policy stops marketing to the excluded person.
ProductABCDEGap score
Casinos000000
Sportsbooks000000
Illinois Lottery000000
Daily fantasy and pick'em10.50.50.50.53
Sweepstakes casinos10.50.510.53.5
Prediction markets10.50.51 (u)1 (u)4
Crypto casinos10.510.51 (u)4
Brokerage event contracts1110.51 (u)4.5
Video gaming terminals11111 (u)5
Offshore sportsbooks and casinos11 (u)11 (u)1 (u)5
Total29 / 50

Illinois Gambling Protection Gap Index, 2026: 58 / 100. The score is meant to be repeated each year with the same rubric, so change can be measured.

Each product, with its sources

Open any product for the finding, the details behind its score and the primary sources we used.

CasinosGap score 0 / 5

Finding: Covered. The statewide program bars enrollees from every Illinois casino and stops targeted marketing; it is the strongest protection in the audit.

Illinois statewide self-exclusion
Yes
Platform or program exclusion
Not needed; the statewide program applies
Minimum age
21 (230 ILCS 10/11)
Regulator
Illinois Gaming Board
Follows the person
Yes: all Illinois casinos and licensed sportsbooks, plus casinos owned by Caesars, Boyd, Penn and MGM elsewhere
Length
Five-year minimum; continues until removal is granted
Reversal
Only after five years, with a letter from a licensed mental-health professional who is a certified gambling counselor (or a psychiatrist), treatment records, a records release and a liability waiver; the Gaming Board decides
Marketing
Yes: targeted marketing to enrollees is prohibited

Primary sources

Last verified: October 7, 2026.

SportsbooksGap score 0 / 5

Finding: Covered. Enrollment suspends accounts at every Illinois-licensed sportsbook, though not at the same brands' separate prediction-market apps.

Illinois statewide self-exclusion
Yes
Platform or program exclusion
Yes, in-app limits and closures for one operator
Minimum age
21 (230 ILCS 45/25-25(b))
Regulator
Illinois Gaming Board
Follows the person
Yes: every Illinois-licensed sportsbook. Out-of-state accounts only at the operator's discretion
Length
Five-year minimum; continues until removal is granted
Reversal
Same as casinos
Marketing
Yes: targeted marketing to enrollees is prohibited

Primary sources

Last verified: October 7, 2026.

Video gaming terminalsGap score 5 / 5

Finding: Not covered. The largest gambling product in Illinois by losses has no binding self-exclusion; the Gaming Board has said it intends to add one, with no date.

Illinois statewide self-exclusion
No
Platform or program exclusion
No. The Video Gaming Problem Gambling Registry sends resources but blocks nothing
Minimum age
21 (230 ILCS 40/40)
Regulator
Illinois Gaming Board
Follows the person
No
Length
Not applicable; the registry can be cancelled at any time
Reversal
Not applicable
Marketing
No rule identified

Criteria scored as gaps because we could not document them: E.

Primary sources

Last verified: October 7, 2026.

Prediction marketsGap score 4 / 5

Finding: Not covered. Each platform must be excluded separately, terms are often unpublished, and the products are open at 18.

Illinois statewide self-exclusion
No
Platform or program exclusion
Yes, on each platform
Minimum age
18 (Operator terms (Kalshi help center; Polymarket US rulebook 3.1(c)))
Regulator
CFTC (federal); Illinois' authority contested in federal court
Follows the person
Partly: SelfExclude.io covers Kalshi and Novig only; a Kalshi exclusion does not block access through brokers
Length
Kalshi: not published. Polymarket US: 30 days, 1 year or permanent (announced October 2026). SelfExclude.io: 1 to 12 months, then ends automatically
Reversal
Kalshi: cannot be lifted early, but ends automatically. Polymarket US: not stated
Marketing
Not documented

Criteria scored as gaps because we could not document them: D, E.

Primary sources

Last verified: October 7, 2026.

Brokerage event contractsGap score 4.5 / 5

Finding: Not covered. Exclusion, where it exists, is a request to the broker, and no terms are published.

Illinois statewide self-exclusion
No
Platform or program exclusion
Robinhood: by request to support. Others: no documented tool
Minimum age
18 (Robinhood event contracts support page)
Regulator
CFTC (federal), offered through brokerages
Follows the person
No
Length
Robinhood calls it a more permanent restriction; no term published
Reversal
Robinhood: can be re-enabled after a support review
Marketing
Not documented

Criteria scored as gaps because we could not document them: E.

Primary sources

Last verified: October 7, 2026.

Daily fantasy and pick'emGap score 3 / 5

Finding: Required by law to join the state program since June 16, 2026, but the rules that would make it work are not in effect.

Illinois statewide self-exclusion
Required by law, not yet implemented
Platform or program exclusion
Yes, on each platform
Minimum age
21 by statute; operator terms not yet consistent (230 ILCS 45/25-120.4(b), added by P.A. 104-0468)
Regulator
Illinois Gaming Board (P.A. 104-0468, in force June 16, 2026)
Follows the person
Partly: PrizePicks, Underdog, Dabble and Splash share an exclusion through idPair; FanDuel's state-wide option depends on a state program that does not yet cover Illinois fantasy
Length
PrizePicks: 30 days or more, or lifetime. Underdog: 1, 3, 5 or 10 years, or lifetime. FanDuel: from 1 year
Reversal
PrizePicks and Underdog: cannot be undone. DraftKings and FanDuel: not published
Marketing
PrizePicks: marketing notifications stop. Others: not documented

Primary sources

Last verified: October 7, 2026.

Illinois LotteryGap score 0 / 5

Finding: Not part of the Gaming Board program, but covered by its own binding state program with fixed terms and a marketing ban.

Illinois statewide self-exclusion
No (separate Lottery program)
Platform or program exclusion
Yes: Voluntary Self-Exclusion (online and retail prize claims) and online-only exclusion
Minimum age
18 (20 ILCS 1605/15; 11 Ill. Adm. Code 1770.145)
Regulator
Illinois Department of the Lottery
Follows the person
Yes, across all Lottery channels; nothing outside the Lottery
Length
Voluntary Self-Exclusion: 1 year, 5 years or lifetime. Online-only: at least 5 years
Reversal
Enrollees stay listed until a removal request is approved; early requests are denied; removal requires treatment documentation
Marketing
Yes: the Lottery removes enrollees from promotional lists and retailers must not market to them

Primary sources

Last verified: October 7, 2026.

Sweepstakes casinosGap score 3.5 / 5

Finding: Not covered. These sites are not licensed in Illinois, and exclusion depends entirely on each operator's policy.

Illinois statewide self-exclusion
No
Platform or program exclusion
Yes, on some platforms
Minimum age
Varies, 18 or 21 by operator (Operator terms)
Regulator
None; not licensed in Illinois. The Gaming Board, with the Attorney General, sent more than 60 cease-and-desist letters in February 2026
Follows the person
Partly: Chumba's exclusion covers one site; exclusion across its sister sites requires contacting support
Length
Chumba: 6 months to 5 years, or indefinite
Reversal
Chumba: timed exclusions reactivate automatically; indefinite can be lifted after 6 months
Marketing
Chumba: excluded players are unsubscribed from all marketing. Others: not documented

Primary sources

Last verified: October 7, 2026.

Offshore sportsbooks and casinosGap score 5 / 5

Finding: Not covered. No Illinois or U.S. regulator oversees them; we could not document any operator exclusion terms.

Illinois statewide self-exclusion
No
Platform or program exclusion
Uncertain
Minimum age
Uncertain (Operator terms could not be retrieved)
Regulator
None; not legal in Illinois. The Gaming Board has sent cease-and-desist letters to offshore sportsbooks
Follows the person
No
Length
Uncertain
Reversal
Uncertain
Marketing
Uncertain

Criteria scored as gaps because we could not document them: B, D, E.

Primary sources

Last verified: October 7, 2026.

Crypto casinosGap score 4 / 5

Finding: Not covered. The largest sites bar U.S. players in their terms, but nothing an Illinois resident enrolls in can reach them.

Illinois statewide self-exclusion
No
Platform or program exclusion
Yes, on some platforms
Minimum age
18 or local age of majority (stated where retrievable) (Operator terms)
Regulator
None; not legal in Illinois, and the largest sites bar U.S. players in their terms
Follows the person
No
Length
Stake: indefinite exclusion lasts at least 6 months
Reversal
Stake: does not reactivate automatically; reopening is subject to internal review
Marketing
Not documented

Criteria scored as gaps because we could not document them: E.

Primary sources

Last verified: October 7, 2026.

What is changing

  • Shorter terms, remote enrollment and a marketing list. In September 2026 the Illinois Gaming Board approved proposed amendments adding six-month to indefinite terms, the authority for mail, treatment-provider and online enrollment, and a voluntary Marketing Exclusion List. They take effect only after public rulemaking. Until then, the five-year minimum and in-person enrollment apply.
  • Video gaming. The Board adopted a resolution the same month making it public policy to bring video gaming into the program, using ID-card readers at redemption terminals. It set no date.
  • Fantasy contests. Public Act 104-0468 brought fantasy contests under the Gaming Board, set a minimum age of 21 and directed the Board to fold them into self-exclusion. The Board approved proposed rules in September 2026; none had taken effect as of October 7, 2026.
  • Prediction markets. Illinois has sent cease-and-desist letters to prediction-market operators, and its authority over them is being litigated in federal court.

We will update the scores when any of these take effect.

Methodology

Chicago Addiction Therapy reviewed Illinois statutes and administrative rules, Illinois Gaming Board and Illinois Lottery materials, operator self-exclusion policies, terms of service and responsible-gambling documentation. Each product was evaluated for minimum age, regulator, statewide self-exclusion coverage, operator-level exclusion, length, reversibility, whether the exclusion follows the person across operators, and marketing restrictions. Regulatory claims were checked against two independent copies of the rule text where possible, and every row was rechecked against its sources in a second, independent pass before publication.

For categories without a state program, we reviewed the largest operators by public prominence: Kalshi and Polymarket US; Robinhood, Webull, Interactive Brokers and Coinbase; PrizePicks, Underdog, DraftKings and FanDuel; Chumba, LuckyLand, Pulsz and McLuck; and the largest offshore and crypto sites. Closing an account is not counted as self-exclusion. The headline count of 8 leaves out offshore and crypto sites because they are illegal in Illinois and no state program could cover them; the index and the audit table include all 10. Where the legal status or applicability of a protection was unclear, we labeled the result “uncertain” rather than inferring coverage.

Limits. Operator policies change without notice, and some operator pages could not be retrieved. The audit describes published rules, not how well they are enforced. It is general information, not legal advice.

Policies were last verified on October 7, 2026.

Download the data (CSV)

If you are trying to close these doors

Self-exclusion works best when every door is closed at once. These guides walk through each one:

Illinois Gambling Helpline: call 1-800-GAMBLER or text GAMB to 833234. In a crisis, call or text 988.

More Illinois data: Illinois gambling statistics · Illinois video gambling data · Illinois sports betting data · Illinois casino data · Editorial standards